by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (May 2, 2019) – After three players were honored by the Major Arena Soccer League yesterday, two more Comets stars were awarded today. In an announcement from the MASL this morning, forward Leo Gibson and defender James Togbah were named to the All-MASL 3rd Team.

For the first time, voting for the MASL postseason awards was open to all MASL, players, General Managers and Head Coaches, in addition to select MASL Staff. Voting was based on regular season performance.

2018-2019 Voting Distribution
Head Coach 9%
Player 76%
GM 8%
MASL Staff 7%                          

2nd Team All-MASL
F - Franck Tayou - Monterrey Flash
F - Ian Bennett - Milwaukee Wave
M - Jonatas Melo - Baltimore Blast
D - Marcio Leite - Milwaukee Wave
D - Cesar Cerda - San Diego Sockers
GK - Josh Lemos - Milwaukee Wave

3rd Team All-MASL 
F - Leo Gibson - Kansas City Comets
F - Slavisa Ubiparipovic - Utica City FC
M - Tony Donatelli - Baltimore Blast
D - James Togbah - Kansas City Comets
D - Guerrero Pino - San Diego Sockers
GK - William Vanzela - Baltimore Blast

The MASL will reveal the 1st Team list, as well as the nominees for the Individual Major Awards tomorrow, Friday May 3. For the full schedule of Championship Week events, click here