by Pat Clifton

KANSAS CITY (Nov. 11, 2019) – The Kansas City Comets have announced their initial preseason roster, in accordance with the Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) roster limits. Beginning with the 2019-2020 regular season, each MASL team is restricted to 26 registered players. On game days, those rosters will be limited to an active roster of 14 field players and up to two goalkeepers.

The Comets kicked off their preseason training camp Monday Nov. 4, with the franchise’s all-time caps, goals and assist leader, Leo Gibson, taking the helm as player/coach. Most of the team has been in camp since day one, while others will join as their contracts and visas are finalized. Others are in camp as trialists, hoping to earn a contract.

The upcoming season marks the current iteration of the franchise’s 10th anniversary. Since their rebirth, the Comets have made the playoffs in all but one season, winning the Major Indoor Soccer League title in 2014. The new campaign kicks off on the road Nov. 22 in Turlock, Calif. against the Express, with the home opener a week later at Silverstein Eye Centers Arena in Independence, Mo.

GOALKEEPERS (4): Mark Saxby, Nicolau Neto+, Lou Misner

DEFENDERS: John Sosa, Ignacio Flores, Mirko Sandivari, Robert Palmer+, Matt Lewis, Stefan Stokic, Robert Kelly

MIDFIELDERS: Lucas Rodriguez, Maumer Hamsic^, Nick McDonald^, Ramone Palmer+, Lucas Sousa+, Hector Solorio Villalpando, Ray Saari*, Kiel Williams

FORWARDS: Adam James, Leo Gibson, Anthony Grant, Gui Gomes, Jose Payan^

 *Player pending contract approval
+Player pending visa approval
^Trialist, non-contract player